Sourdough Bread

.
So much baking, so little blogging. I’m bursting to post the candy I’ve been making, but first I have to discuss my sourdough. My sourdough was the epitome of oh-so-good-with-butter-breadliness, but it didn’t quite put the ‘sour’ in ‘sourdough.’ I’m thinking it was the sourdough starter. The starter is sort of like an agar plate, with tiny little yeasts reproducing like mad in a 2-quart petri dish filled with flour and water.
.
.
.
I’ve read through a bunch of starter recipes, from scary complicated recipes to super simple ones. Some say you can’t use the starter to make sourdough for 15 days, and other recipes say you can go right ahead after two or three days. Some call for rye flour and kefir and pineapple juice and mixing and waiting and adding and weighting, and others aren’t so freaking confusing.
.

Honestly, sourdough bread doesn’t involve enough sugar to make it worth my while. Cinnamon Walnut Raisin bread, yes. Honey Oat bread, yes. Banana bread, oh yes. With most desserts that don’t turn out well, I have an almost unbearable need to understand it, to do it again, and to get it right. I’m propelled to the computer to research, compelled to go out and get more ingredients, impelled to bake something as perfect as personally possible.

.

With sourdough, I’m just not feeling it. For once, I am confident that I will live a long, healthy, reasonably comfortable life even if I don’t turn out a perfect loaf in the very near future. If you know me, you know you should rush over here and take my temperature.

Back to the ‘sour’dough. Both my starter recipe and my sourdough bread recipe are from Annie’s eats. I know almost nothing about bread, so it’s hard to figure out what went wrong. The dough happily rose to incredible proportions, but that could have been due to the 4 tsp of instant yeast in the bread recipe, and not due to the quality of the starter. It was very warm in the house when I was making the starter, so I only left it out for three days, but maybe I should have left it out of the fridge for longer. If you’re serious about your sourdough, I would do a little more research on different types of starters. (Check out The Fresh Loaf or Wild Yeast; both seem to have a ton of information on breading. No, that isn’t an actual, dictionaried word. And no, dictionaried is not a real world either.)

.
.

But if you’re happy with two giant loaves of soft, fresh, not quite sourdough bread with a crispy, crackly crust, this recipe is for you.

2 thoughts on “Sourdough Bread

  1. The longer you have your starter, the more sour it will be and the more sour your bread will taste. You might want to wait longer before you judge it :)

  2. getting your sourdough extract is the initial tricky part,i guess the rest of it is prety straight forward.i read about this sourdough at philly that uses a 100 year old starter base that they keep locked in a vault :)

Leave a Comment

